Tue. Apr 23rd, 2024

Norah Jones takes it back to jazz

By Rebecca Jeffreys Oct 11, 2016
Norah Jones on 'Later With Jools Holland' in September 2016; Credit: Photo by REX/Shutterstock

Nine-time Grammy winner Norah Jones is back with her newly released album Day Breaks, coming after 2012’s Little Broken Hearts. The singer-songwriter revisits her love for jazz and piano through an album that consists of 12 songs and channels Duke Ellington and Neil Young.

She said: “This new album feels full circle because I’m going back to my early influences.

“After the first record, I drifted away from the piano a little bit. I still played it, but was more inspired to write on guitar. I really loved playing piano on this record.”

Jones gave fans a sneak-peak of the album by releasing the single “Flipside” before the album release on October 7 2016. In the single, she conducts her voice beautifully over the jazzy piano and maintains her reputation of having a voice so soothing that it puts you in a tranquil state.

The Day Breaks tracklist consists of:
01. Burn
02. Tragedy
03. Flipside
04. It’s A Wonderful Time For Love
05. And Then There Was You
06. Don’t Be Denied
07. Day Breaks
08. Peace
09. Once I Had A Laugh
10. Sleeping Wild
11. Carry On
12. Fleurette Africaine (African Flower)

Related Post