Thu. May 23rd, 2024

Veganism in religion

By Mihaela Kirilova Jan 25, 2023
Easter celebrationCredit: Yuri Kochetkov/Shutterstock

Veganism and plant-based diets in some cases are incorporated into religious practices.

In some cases, a vegan lifestyle is preferred whereas in other cases the vegan diet is more common, and is associated with important celebrations and holidays.

Veganism in religion is not only related to cruelty-free life towards animals but is also believed to keep a person’s soul pure.

Eastern Orthodox Church

For Eastern Orthodox Christians, the vegan diet is related to Easter.

In the seven weeks leading up to Easter, the period known as Lent is a time of eating pure plant foods.

A person observing Lent follows a strict schedule every week anddedicates more time to prayers and good deeds.

It is believed that Lent’s purpose is to cleanse the person’s soul and prepare it for the resurrection of Jesus.

Hinduism

Lord Ganesha, Hindu God. Photo: Jose Luis Sanchez Pereyra/Unsplash

Hinduism is the second example in which the vegan lifestyle is preferred.

In the Hindu religion, vegetarianism and veganism is widespread with an estimated 40% of Hindus saying they are vegetarian.

In this case, being vegan is not related to a specific holiday.

One of the most fundamental Hindu virtues is Ahisma, a concept of nonviolence towards all living things.

Related Post